Delta Kappa Gamma International Society Meeting Delta Sigma Chapter April 27, 2023 Boger City United Methodist Church @ 6:00

Members in Attendance (35): Edwina Beam, Frankie Beam, Kelton Boorman, Elaine Boysworth, Diana Carpenter, Keisha Dagenhart, Jill Eaddy, Kennan Eaddy, Libby Fletcher, Kellie Goins, Nelva Goodson, Kathryn Graham, Rhonda Hager, Lori Haight, Becky Heavner, Sherry Hoyle, Jennifer Huskey, Judy Jones, Brittany Link, Jennifer Luper, Sara Miller, Heather Myers, Abbey Parker, Autumn Pyrtle, Gayle Reid, Kim Santos, Stephanie Schou, Laurie Sellers, Judy Shuford, Renee Smith, Phyllis Tallent, Cindy White, Kay Wilson, Denise Wright, Sheila Wright

Winners & Guests:

Katie Wilson & Husband Katelyn Leonhardt & parents Blake McMurry & parent Kay Wilson's daughter & one other

At the start of the program, Judy Jones provided the welcome and invocation. Next, we celebrated milestones that members have met within the organization. Rhonda Hager presented the following members with a pin in honor of the milestones that they have accomplished. 25 Years: Susan McConnell 50 Years: Kay Wilson

Gayle, a representative for the Scholarship Committee, presented three special awards for the evening: Buzzing Bee Award - Katie Wilson Annette Geymont Award - Katelyn Leonhardt Delta Sigma Future Educator - Blaek McMurry Advanced Degree Award - Kelton Boorman

Kathryn Graham and Kelton Boorman presented to the group about the Pillars of Scholarship:

- 1. Blessing to the Giver
- 2. Inspire Others
- 3. Helps the Receiver Accomplish a Goal
- 4. Gives the Reciever Confidence in his/her Abilities

After the special program, the business portion of the meeting was called to order at 7:01. Jennifer Huskey motioned for the minutes from our last meeting to be approved. Renee Smith seconded the motion.

Lori shared the treasurer's report. Kelton Boorman made the motion for the treasurer's report to be approved. Frankie Beam seconded the motion.

Elaine Boysworth announced the Member Participation Award winner. The winner was Becky Heavner; her membership dues will be paid.

The group voted to continue the ticket program again next year.

Committee Member Reports:

- **Teacher Appreciation Fundraiser** we sold 41 yard signs and 15 teacher appreciation cards.
- Scholarship the group discussed updating the scholarship form by creating an electronic form to make it more accessible to potential candidates.
- Education/Law discussions are taking place regarding teacher pay and an overhaul in administration pay.

Other Announcements:

Executive Board meeting will be held May 8, 2023.

Dr. Rhonda Hager adjourned the meeting at 7:45.